iBelgian Waffle

I’ll always remember my first grown-up trip to the supermarket. It was early in my second year at university and I’d just moved from halls to my first student house where I could no longer rely on the three cooked meals a day I’d grown accustomed to.

As I walked round an enormous Tesco Extra, I realised I didn’t have a the first clue about what I needed to buy in order to get me through the week without bringing on a deficiency diseases. My basket contained a pack of frozen peas, tinned tomatoes and several malt loaves (all Tesco Value, naturally). Fortunately my wonderful and wise housemates sensed my unease and gave me some suggestions for foodstuffs that might actually constitute a meal.

Whilst I can’t remember the last time I ate malt loaf, there was another sweet delicacy I discovered in that Tesco which nearly a decade later I still love to treat myself to; Belffles Belgian Waffles.

Now, they may not look very authentic (probably because they come in a gaudy blue plastic wrapper and aren’t in any way authentic) but by god are they tasty. The dense eggy waffle is liberally sprinkled with large flecks of sugar which…

…sorry, I just had to wipe the drool off my keyboard.

I planed to review these quite a few weeks ago, but they never lasted long enough for me to take a photo. One afternoon I even bought a couple of them; one to eat straightaway and another to save until I got home to my cameral. Fail.

After I left university, I didn’t come across them for some time and assumed that Tesco stopped selling them. Then I discovered them again in one of those mini Tescos and it appears that most of them stock Belffles – huzzah!

Crap name though. Really? Belffles?

For more waffley fun…

Birdseye potato waffles, they’re waffley versatile.

Footwear for the waffle about town.

For the record, this being review number 42, I’m sure you’re furiously searching my words for the meaning of life. Trust me, it’s in there somewhere.