My lottery winnings, £8.20

It’s pretty unfashionable to like observational stand-up comedians at the moment. That’s not to say that they aren’t popular, but when has popularity ever had anything to do with fashion?

The level of commercial success achieved by the likes of Michael McIntyre and Peter Kay has – rightly or wrongly – led to a great deal of criticism and resentment from critics and their peers. This in turn has made observational comedy ‘uncool’ as it’s now associated with comics who appear keener to sell tickets (and t-shirts, mugs, souvenir tea towels etc…) than to write new jokes.

Why do I mention all this? Well, last Friday I’m ashamed to admit I became a living, breathing observational comedy skit when I spent two quid on a Euromillions lottery ticket.

I hadn’t bought one a fortnight ago when the jackpot was £41million, nor a week later when it had risen to £86million. I held on to my £2 until the jackpot was a staggering £101million; a prize worth winning. (© Peter Kay, Michael McIntyre et al)

As it turns out, I did win.

On first glance I reckoned I had two numbers and was about to theatrically tear my ticket to shreds. On closer inspection, I actually had three numbers. I decided immediately that I would tick the box saying I that I didn’t want publicity; there was no way I was posing for a photo whilst a giant cheque was handed to me.

Now three numbers – as everyone knows – wins you a tenner on the National Lottery, so what sort of wild riches could I expect from a lottery with a jackpot ten times the size of the UK one? I feverishly searched the website for some hint as to what my prize would be, all the time imagining how much manure I could afford to buy and dump on Peter Kay’s doorstep with the winnings.

I had won £8.20. It doesn’t sound like much. That’s because it isn’t. I’ve kept my feet firmly on the ground and will continue as before, at least until the next £100m+ jackpot comes along.

For more lottery related fun…

Who remembers Mystic Meg?

This time next year we’ll be millionaires.

For the record, my secret lottery tip is, buy a lucky dip. Or don’t buy a ticket at all.